Important notice: COVID-19 See Details

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2018 winners announced

Evening Standard Awards

The winners of this year's Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced, as see Ralph Fiennes and Sophie Okonedo both win following their performances in the National Theatre's production of Anthony and Cleopatra

The pair won the awards for best actor and best actress respectively for their roles in the production, while Hamilton's Jamael Westman took home the Emerging Talent award, and Company's Rosalie Craig won the award for best musical performance. 

Matthew Lopez's two-part drama The Inheritance won the award for best play following its premiere at the Young Vic and West End transfer to the Noel Coward. Lin-Manuel Miranda's musical Hamilton won best musical, while Marianne Elliott was named best director for her production of Stephen Sondheim's Company. 

Miriam Buether won the award for best design for The Jungle, with her set transforming the Young Vic (and later, Playhouse Theatre) to resemble the refugee camp in Calais, France. Natasha Gordon, who will become the first black female British playwright to have a play in the West End when Nine Night opens at Trafalgar Studios, was named most promising playwright. 

Theatre producer Cameron Mackintosh was given the Lebedev Award for his contribution to musical theatre.

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2018: full list of winners

Best Actor
Ralph Fiennes, Antony and Cleopatra (National Theatre)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Sophie Okonedo, Antony and Cleopatra (National Theatre)

Best Play
The Inheritance by Matthew Lopez (Young Vic & Noël Coward Theatre)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
Marianne Elliott, Company (Gielgud Theatre)

Best Musical   
Hamilton (Victoria Palace Theatre)

Best Musical Performance
Rosalie Craig, Company (Gielgud Theatre)

Best Design       
Miriam Buether, The Jungle (Young Vic & Playhouse Theatre)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright     
Natasha Gordon, Nine Night (National Theatre)

Emerging Talent Award
Jamael Westman, Hamilton (Victoria Palace Theatre)

Lebedev Award
Sir Cameron Mackintosh, for contribution to musical theatre

Looking for the best seats...