Photo credit: Rakie Ayola and Ria Zmitrowicz (Photos courtesy of Royal Court)

Alistair McDowall’s ‘The Glow’ announces cast at Royal Court

The new play will begin performances next month.

Sophie Thomas
Sophie Thomas

The full cast to star in Alistair McDowall's The Glow has been named. The Glow begins previews at the Royal Court from 21 January, with an opening night on 27 January, and performances to 5 March. 

Set in the 1860s, The Glow follows an unnamed woman locked away in a windowless cell. She is recruited by a spiritualist medium as an assistant, but the unnamed woman eventually ends up discovering new powers.

The Glow cast is completed by Fisayo Akinade, Rakie Ayola, Tadhg Murphy, and Ria Zmitrowicz. Vicky Featherstone directs, with set design by Merle Hensel, lighting design by Jessica Hung Han Yun, composition and sound design by Nick Powell, video design by Tal Rosner and movement direction from Malik Nashad Sharpe. 

Shows currently at the Royal Court include Rare Earth Mettle, which runs to 18 December. A Fight Against... (Una Lucha Contra...) begins previews tomorrow, 9 December.

The Glow is at the Royal Court from 21 January to 5 March. 

Photo credit: Rakie Ayola and Ria Zmitrowicz (Photos courtesy of Royal Court)


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive London theatre updates!

  • Get early access to tickets for the newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about news in the West End
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy