Critics' Circle Theatre Awards 2007 announced

Critics' Circle Theatre Awards announced

The winners of the 2007 Critics' Circle Theatre Awards have been announced today.

Best new play
Rock 'N' Roll
by Tom Stoppard
(Royal Court)

Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical
Caroline, or Change
(Lyttelton, NT)

Best actor
Rufus Sewell
(Rock 'N' Roll at Royal Court)

Best actress
Kathleen Turner
(Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? at Apollo)

Best Shakespearean performance
Tamsin Greig
(Much Ado About Nothing for RSC )

Best director
John Tiffany
(Black Watch - National Theatre of Scotland production )

Best designer
The Punchdrunk Faust Company

Most promising playwright
Nina Raine
(Rabbit at Trafalgar Studios 2)

Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer
Jointly won by Connie Fisher (Sound of Music) & Andrew Garfield (Beautiful Thing, Burn/Chatroom/Citizenship and The Overwhelming)

Looking for the best seats...