Major cast changes have been announced in Les Miserables at the Palace Theatre.

From Monday 5th March 2001 Michael McCarthy will take over the role of 'Javert', Tony Timberlake the role of Thenardier', Philippa Healey 'Cosette' and Grania Renihan 'Fantine'.

Michael McCarthy has previously played the role of 'Javert' in London, Sydney, Melbourne, Birmingham, Plymouth, Edinburgh, Manchester and Dublin. Tony Timberlake joins the production after playing 'Roscoe Dexter' in the highly successful "Singin' in the Rain" at the Royal National Theatre. Philippa Healey created the role of Tess' in "Tess of the D'Ubervilles" at the Savoy Theatre, and has sung on the soundtracks of various films including "The Saint" and "The Hunchback of Notre Dame". Grania Renihan has previously played the role of 'Fantine' in London. Her other credits include 'Ellen' in "Miss Saigon" at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane and 'Grizabella' in the Hamburg production of "Cats".

The cast of "LES MISERABLES" continues to star Hans Peter Janssens as 'Jean Valjean', Mandy Holliday as 'Madame Thenardier', Niklas Andersson as 'Marius', Jason McCann as 'Enjolras', and Joanna Ampil as 'Eponine'.

Seen by over 43 million people worldwide in 29 countries and in 18 languages, "LES MISERABLES" is one of the world's most popular musicals. There have been 31 cast recordings of "LES MISERABLES", including the multi-platinum London cast recording and the Grammy Award-winning Broadway cast and complete symphonic albums. The video of the 10th Anniversary Royal Albert Hail Gala Concert has sold well over one million copies worldwide, making it one of the best-selling musical videos in the UK.

"LES MISERABLES" opened at the Palace Theatre on 4 December 1985, following a sell-out season at the Barbican. The show is currently booking until the end of December 2001.

"LES MISERABLES" is adapted and directed by Trevor Nunn and John Caird. The Cameron Mackintosh/Royal Shakespeare Company production of "LES MISERABLES" by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg, based on the novel by Victor Hugo, has lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer and music by Claude-Michel Schonberg with original text by Alain Boublil and additional material by James Fenton.

Looking for the best seats...