The original London theatre guide since 1995 Stay up to date with our newsletter

New LT Logo
Black British Theatre Award Nominations

Shortlist for first Black British Theatre Awards 2019 announced

Will Longman
Will Longman

The shortlist for the inaugural Black British Theatre Awards have been announced, with the lies of Sharon D Clarke, Debbie Tucker Green, Arinze Kene, Rakie Ayola, Lenny Henry, Layton Williams and Kobna Holdbrook-Smith all up for awards.

The BBTAs will take place on 27th October 2019 as part of Black History Month.

Black British Theatre Awards 2019 - full list of nominations

Recognition Group

Light and Sound Recognition Award

Tony Gayle

Set Design Recognition Award

Sadeysa Greenaway-Bailey

Book and Lyrics Recognition Award

Arinze Kene
Inua Ellams
Debbie Tucker Green

Musical Director Recognition Award

Michael Henry
Sean Green
Benjamin Kwasi Burrell

Creatives Group

Best director

Lynette Linton, Sweat
Roy Alexander Weise, Nine Night
Nancy Medina, The Half God of Rainfall

Best Producer

Tobi Kyeremateng, Babylon Festival, Bush Theatre

Best Choreographer

Shelley Maxwell, Equus
Alesandra Seutin, Reckoning, Sadler's Wells
Rachael Nanyonjo, Sleeping Beauty, Theatre Royal Stratford East

Best Opera Production
Porgy and Bess, English National Opera

Best Dance Performance

Carlos Acosta, Don Quixote
Prentice Whitlow, Rite of Spring, Phoenix Dance Company
Precious Adams, Manon, English National Ballet

Best Dance Production
The Suit/Dream Within a Midsummer Nights Dream, Ballet Black 
Rite of Spring, Phoenix Dance Company
Sylvia, ZooNation


Best Male Actor in a Play

Arinze Kene, Misty
Kwami Odoom, The Half God of Rainfall
Aaron Pierre, King Hedley

Best Female Actor in a Play

Gloria Williams, Bullet Hole
Rakie Ayola, The Half God of Rainfall
Sharon D Clarke, Death of a Salesman

Best Supporting Male Actor in a Play

Lenny Henry, King Hedley
Osy Ikhile, Sweat
Sule Rimi, All My Sons

Best Supporting Female Actor in a Play

Michelle Greenidge, Nine Night
Cherrelle Skeete, King Hedley
Martine Laird, King Hedley

Best Production of a Play

The Half God of Rainfall
The Small Island
Nine Night


Best Male Actor in a Musical

Layton Williams, Everybody's Talking About Jamie
Jay Perry, Motown the Musical
Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, Tina - The Tina Turner Musical

Best Female Actor in a Musical

Sharon D Clarke, Caroline or Change
Rachel John, Hamilton
Maiya Quansha-Breed, Six the Musical

Best Supporting Male Actor in a Musical

Cavin Cornwall, Jesus Christ Superstar
Jason Pennycooke, Hamilton
Arun Blair-Mangat, Leave to Remain

Best Supporting Female Actor in a Musical

Beverley Knight, Sylvia
Amara Okereke, Les Miserables
Kelly Agbowu, Waitress
Madeline Appiah, Tina the Musical

Best Musical Production

Tina the Musical

Achievement Awards

Best Teacher of Performing Arts as a Subject

Angeline Bell, Urdang Academy
Dollie Henry, Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance

Best Recent Graduate Award

Amara Okereke, ArtsEd
Maiya Quansah-Breed, Guildford School of Acting

Lifetime Recognition Award

Sharon D Clarke

Originally published on

This website uses cookies.