Critics' Circle Theatre Awards 2008 announced

Critics' Circle Theatre Awards announced

The winners of the 2008 Critics' Circle Theatre Awards have been announced today.

Best new play
A Disappearing Number
by Simon McBurney & Complicite
(Barbican Theatre)

Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical

Best actor
Charles Dance
(Shadowlands at Wyndham's & Novello)

Best actress
Anne-Marie Duff
(Saint Joan at National Theatre)

Best Shakespearean performance
Awarded jointly to...
Chiwetel Ejiofor
(Othello at Donmar Warehouse)
Patrick Stewart
(Macbeth at Gielgud)

Best director
Rupert Goold
(Macbeth at Gielgud)

Best designer
Rae Smith and Handspring Puppet Company
(War Horse at National Theatre

Most promising playwright
Polly Stenham
(That Face at Royal Court Upstairs)

Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer
Leanne Jones
(Hairspray at Shaftesbury Theatre)

Looking for the best seats...