Evening Standard Theatre Awards shortlist 2007

Evening Standard Theatre Awards shortlist

The shortlist for this year’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced.

The 53rd Evening Standard Theatre Awards ceremony takes place on Tues 27th November 2007 at The Savoy, when the final winners are announced.

The Shortlist

Best Play
A Disappearing Number Simon McBurney and Complicite (Barbican)
Rafta, Rafta Ayub Khan-Din (Lyttelton, NT)
The Reporter Nicholas Wright (Cottesloe, NT)

Best Actor
Charles Dance Shadowlands (Wyndham's)
Robert Lindsay The Entertainer (Old Vic)
Mark Rylance Boeing Boeing (Comedy)
Patrick Stewart Macbeth (Chichester, then Gielgud)

Best Actress
Anne-Marie Duff Saint Joan (Olivier, NT)
Billie Piper Treats (Garrick)
Portia The Member Of The Wedding (Young Vic)
Penelope Wilton John Gabriel Borkman (Donmar)

The Sydney Edwards Award for Best Director
Marianne Elliott & Tom Morris War Horse (Olivier, NT)
Rupert Goold Macbeth (Chichester, then Gielgud)
Tim Supple A Midsummer Night's Dream (RSC Swan Theatre, then Roundhouse)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Fiddler On The Roof Savoy
Hairspray Shaftesbury
Parade Donmar Warehouse

Best Design
Felix Barrett And Punchdrunk The Masque Of The Red Death (Punchdrunk at BAC)
Robin Don The Emperor Jones (Olivier, NT)
Rae Smith & The Handspring Puppet Company War Horse (Olivier, NT)
Anthony Ward Macbeth (Chichester, then Gielgud)

The Charles Wintour Award For Most Promising Playwright
Hassan Abdulrazzak Baghdad Wedding (Soho)
Lucy Caldwell Leaves (Royal Court Upstairs)
Polly Stenham That Face (Royal Court Upstairs)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Amanda Hale The Glass Menagerie (Apollo)
Matt Smith That Face (Royal Court Upstairs)
Stephen Wight Dealer's Choice/Don Juan In Soho (Menier Chocolate Factory/Donmar)

The judging panel for the Evening Standard Theatre Awards are theatre critics Nicholas de Jongh of the Evening Standard, Georgina Brown of the Mail on Sunday, Susannah Clapp of The Observer, Benedict Nightingale of The Times and Charles Spencer of the Daily Telegraph.

Looking for the best seats...