Full cast confirmed for Hairspray

Full cast confirmed for Hairspray

The full cast has been confirmed for Hairspray, which opens at the Shaftesbury Theatre 30 Oct 2007, following previews from 11 Oct - booking to 15 Mar 2008.

Joining previously mentioned Michael Ball (Edna Turnblad), Leanne Jones (Tracy Turnblad) and Mel Smith (Wilbur Turnblad), will be Ben James-Ellis (Link Larkin), Tracie Bennett (Velma Von Tussle), Natalie Best (Inez), Dermot Canavan (Male Authority Figure), Elinor Collett (Penny Pingleton) , Johnnie Fiori (Motormouth Maybelle), Adrian Hansel (Seaweed), Paul Manuel (Corny Collins), Wendy Somerville (Female Authority Figure)’ and Rachel Wooding (Amber Von Tussle).

Also in the cast are Gavin Alex, Fem Belling, Philip Catchpole, Lewis Davies, Helen Dixon, Emma Dodd, Tim Frater, Kate Gillespie, Ewan Gillies, Nicky Griffiths, Jenii Hicks, Holly James, Sandra Marvin, Terel Nugent, Michael Peters, Adam Price, Charlotte Riby, Dominic Shaw, Neil Toon, Michael Vinsen, Zara Warren and Jacqui Zvimba

This production had its Broadway premier at the Neil Simon Theatre in 2002, where it still continues to run

The show has book by Mark O’Donnell & Thomas Meehan, music by Marc Shaiman, lyrics by Scott Wittman & Marc Shaiman, and is based upon the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters.

It is directed by Jack O’Brien, choreographed by Jerry Mitchell, and produced in the West End by Stage Entertainment / SEL & GFO New Line Cinema / In Association With Live Nation

Baltimore's Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion -- to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance programme, 'The Corny Collins Show' and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program's reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show?

Looking for the best seats...