Evening Standard Theatre Award Winners 2007

Evening Standard Theatre Award Winners

The winners of this year’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced.

The 53rd Evening Standard Theatre Awards ceremony took place on Tues 27th November 2007 at The Savoy

The Winners

Best Play
A Disappearing Number Simon McBurney and Complicite (Barbican)

Best Actor
Patrick Stewart Macbeth (Chichester, then Gielgud)

Best Actress
Anne-Marie Duff Saint Joan (Olivier, NT)

The Sydney Edwards Award for Best Director
Rupert Goold Macbeth (Chichester, then Gielgud)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Hairspray Shaftesbury

Best Design
Rae Smith & The Handspring Puppet Company War Horse (Olivier, NT)

The Charles Wintour Award For Most Promising Playwright
Polly Stenham That Face (Royal Court Upstairs)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Stephen Wight Dealer's Choice/ Don Juan In Soho (Menier Chocolate Factory/Donmar)

Special Award
Stephen Tompkins for innovative theatre architecture.

The judging panel were theatre critics Nicholas de Jongh of the Evening Standard, Georgina Brown of the Mail on Sunday, Susannah Clapp of The Observer, Benedict Nightingale of The Times and Charles Spencer of the Daily Telegraph.

Looking for the best seats...