Evening Standard Theatre Awards Winners 2009

The winners of The 55th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced at a ceremony at the Royal Opera House

The Winners...

Best Play
Jerusalem Jez Butterworth (Royal Court)

Best Actor
Mark Rylance Jerusalem (Royal Court)

The Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Rachel Weisz A Streetcar Named Desire (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Director
Rupert Goold Enron (Royal Court)

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Hello, Dolly! (Open Air, Regent's Park)

Best Design
Mamoru Iriguchi Mincemeat (Cardboard Citizens/Cordy House, Shoreditch)

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Alia Bano Shades (Royal Court)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Lenny Henry Othello(Northern Broadsides at Trafalgar Studios)

Special Award
Ian McKellen was presented a Special Award for his contribution to British theatre.

Looking for the best seats...