Major cast changes in Les Miserables from 28 July 03

Major cast changes in Les Miserables from 28 July 03

Major cast changes have been announced in Les Miserables at the Palace Theatre from 28 July 2003.

Jeff Leyton will return to the cast to star as 'Jean Valjean'. Katy Secombe will join to play 'Madame Thenardier', Joanna Ampil 'Fantine', Lydia Griffiths 'Cosette' and Oliver Thornton as 'Enjolras'. And has previously announced Jon Lee, who was a member of the pop group S Club, will be making his adult stage debut playing the role of 'Marius'.

Michael McCarthy will continue to star as 'Javert', Sophia Ragavelas as 'Eponine' and Stephen Tate as 'Thenardier'.

Les Miserables, which concerns Love and bravery in 19th century France during the revolutionary struggles, has been running in London since 1985. It is written by Alain Boublil and Claude-Michel Schonberg, based on the novel by Victor Hugo. It has lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer and music by Claude-Michel Schonberg, with original text by Alain Boublil and additional material by James Fenton. It is adapted and directed by Trevor Nunn and John Caird.

It has been seen by over 50 million people worldwide in 38 countries and in 21 languages. There have been 31 cast recordings of "Les Miserables", including the multi-platinum London cast recording and the Grammy Award-winning Broadway cast and complete symphonic albums. The video of the 10th Anniversary Royal Albert Hall Gala Concert has sold well over one million copies worldwide, making it one of the best-selling musical videos in the UK.

Looking for the best seats...