Shortlist for The 55th Evening Standard Theatre Awards

The shortlist for The 55th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced.

The Award winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Royal Opera House on 23 November 2009.

The Shortlist

Best Play
August: Osage County Tracy Letts (Steppenwolf/National)
Enron Lucy Prebble (Chichester/Royal Court)
Jerusalem Jez Butterworth (Royal Court)
Punk Rock Simon Stephens (Lyric Hammersmith)

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale The Winter's Tale (Bridge Project/Old Vic)
Mark Rylance Jerusalem (Royal Court)
Ken Stott A View From The Bridge (Duke of York's)
Samuel West Enron (Royal Court)

The Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Deanna Dunagan August: Osage County (Steppenwolf/ National)
Penny Downie Helen (Shakespeare's Globe)
Juliet Stevenson Duet For One (Almeida/Vaudeville)
Rachel Weisz A Streetcar Named Desire (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Director
Rupert Goold Enron (Royal Court)
Jeremy Herrin Tusk Tusk (Royal Court)
Ian Rickson Jerusalem (Royal Court)
Anna D Shapiro August: Osage County (Steppenwolf/National)

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
A Little Night Music (Menier Chocolate Factory/Garrick)
Been So Long (ETT/Young Vic)
Hello, Dolly! (Open Air, Regent's Park)
Spring Awakening (Lyric Hammersmith/Novello)

Best Design
Jon Bausor Kursk (Sound&Fury, Fuel/Young Vic)
Miriam Buether Judgement Day (Almeida)
Mamoru Iriguchi Mincemeat (Cardboard Citizens/Cordy House, Shoreditch)
Ultz Jerusalem (Royal Court)

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Alia Bano Shades (Royal Court)
Katori Hall Mountaintop (Theatre 503 & Trafalgar Studios)
Alexi Kaye Campbell The Pride (Royal Court & Apologia/Bush)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Naana Agyei-Ampadu Been So Long (Young Vic)
Lenny Henry Othello<(Northern Broadsides at Trafalgar Studios)
Bel Powley Tusk Tusk(Royal Court)
Tom Sturridge Punk Rock (Lyric Hammersmith)

Looking for the best seats...