Motown The Musical announces full West End cast

The full cast will include: Charl Brown (Smokey Robinson), Sifiso Mazibuko (Marvin Gaye), Cedric Neal (Berry Gordy), Lucy St. Louis (Diana Ross), Keisha Amponsa Banson (Mary Wells), Cherelle Williams (Mary Wilson), Cleopatra Rey (Gladys Knight), Cindy Belliot (Anna Gordy), Aisha Jawondo (Martha Reeves), Samuel Edwards (Jackie Wilson), Brandon Lee Sears (Tito Jackson), Joshua Liburd (Eddie Kendricks), Simeon Montague (Jermaine Jackson), Tanya Nicole Edwards (Florence Ballard), Portia Harry (Teena Marie), Cleopatra Rey (Gladys Knight) and Jordan Shaw (Stevie Wonder).

The ensemble will include Jay Bryce, Daniel Bailey, Edward Baruwa, Eddie Elliott, Christopher Fry, Alex Hammond, Edward Handoll, Simon Ray Harvey, Elias Hendricks, Brian James Leys, Jayde Nelson, Kieran McGinn, Simone Mistry Palmer, Carl Spencer and Marcel J Whyte.

The show is based on the book 'To Be Loved: The Music, The Magic, The Memories of Motown' by Berry Gordy and features an eighteen piece orchestra that brings to life 50 Motown tracks including “My Girl”, “Dancing In The Street”, “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” and “I Heard It Through The Grapevine”. It is described as a "musical sensation with real soul".

The original production ran at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre on Broadway, New York from 14 April 2013 to 18 January 2015 for a total of 738 performances. It was nominated for four Tony Awards including Best Actress in a Musical and Best Featured Actor in a Musical for original cast members Valisia LeKae and Charl Brown.

Synopsis: "With just $800 borrowed from his family, Motown founder Berry Gordy, goes from featherweight boxer to heavyweight music mogul, discovering and launching the careers of Diana Ross and the Supremes, Michael Jackson and the Jackson 5, Stevie Wonder, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, Marvin Gaye and many more. Motown the Musical uncovers the story of the legendary record label that changed music history and created the soundtrack of a generation."

Motown The Musical is directed by Charles Randolph-Wright with choreography by Patricia Wilcox and Warren Adams, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by ESosa, lighting design by Natasha Katz and sound design by Peter Hylenski.

Looking for the best seats...