The Broken Heart cast announced - Sam Wanamaker

The cast has been announced for The Broken Heart, directed by Caroline Steinbeis, which opens at the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse on 18 March 2015, following previews from 12 March 2015, booking to 18 April 2015.

The play, by John Ford, will star Amy Morgan (Penthea), Owen Teale (Bassanes) and Luke Thompson (Ithocles). First published in 1633, The Broken Heart is set in Classical Greece and recounts the story of Amyclas, King of Laconia, his daughter Calantha, and their court.


Owen Teale is best known for playing the role of Ser Alliser Thorne in the HBO series 'Game of Thrones'. His theatre credits include 'A Doll’s House' (West End and Broadway), for which he won a Tony Award, 'Creditors' (Donmar Warehouse), 'Ivanov' (National Theatre) and 'The Country' (Royal Court).

Amy Morgan's stage credits include 'Trelawny of the Wells' at the Donmar, 'An Ideal Husband' at the Chichester Festival Theatre and 'Once a Catholic' at the Tricycle Theatre. Amy currently plays Grace Calthorpe in the ITV series 'Mr Selfridge'.

Luke Thompson was on stage last summer in Dominic Dromgoole’s production of 'Julius Caesar', in the role of Marc Anthony. His television credits include 'The Suspicions of Mr Whicher' and 'In The Club'.

Looking for the best seats...