The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time to close in the West End

The hit production to play its final performance on 3 June 2017.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The National Theatre have today announced that the West End hit The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time will play its final performance at the Gielgud Theatre on 3 June 2017.

The Olivier and Tony Award®-winning play was adapted from Mark Haddon’s best-selling book by Simon Stephens and directed by Marianne Elliott. When it closes in 2017 it will have played over 1,600 performances and have been seen by over 1 million people in London, and almost 2.5 million people worldwide. The show originated at the NT’s Cottesloe Theatre (now Dorfman) in September 2012, before transferring to the Apollo Theatre in March 2013, and later its current home, the Gielgud Theatre in July 2014.

The original London production received a record-breaking seven Oliver Awards in 2013, more than any other play in history, including those for Best New Play, Best Director, Best Design, Best Lighting Design and Best Sound Design. The production transferred to Broadway where it ran at the Barrymore Theatre from September 2014 to September 2016, winning five Tony Awards including Best Play.

Producer Kash Bennett said of the news: "We are so proud of the London production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and the incredible casts and crews who have brought the show to life night after night over the past five years. As we enter the final six months in London, we also look forward to continuing the show’s extraordinary journey throughout the UK, Ireland, North America and beyond."

It was announced that the production will begin a 25 city tour of the UK and Ireland in January 2017 along with a North American tour continuing until September 2017.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is designed by Bunny Christie, with lighting by Paule Constable, video design by Finn Ross, movement by Scott Graham and Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly, music by Adrian Sutton and sound by Ian Dickinson for Autograph.

The final West End cast will include Joseph Ayre as Christopher Boone, Jo Castleton as Siobhan, Nicolas Tennant as Ed, Sarah Stanley as Judy, Jacqueline Clarke as Mrs Alexander, Amanda Posener as Mrs Shears, Ross Waiton as Roger Shears, Matthew Trevannion as Mr Thompson, Gemma Knight Jones as No.40/Punk Girl, David Nellist as Reverend Peters, and Thomas Dennis as alternate Christopher.

Tickets for the final booking period are now on sale.

Looking for the best seats...