58th London Evening Standard Theatre Award winners

The winners of The 58th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced at a ceremony at the Savoy Hotel.

The Winners...

Best Play
by Nick Payne at Royal Court & Duke of York's Theatre

Best Actor
Simon Russell Beale
Collaborators at National Theatre

The Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Hattie Morahan
A Doll's House at the Young Vic theatre

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical
Sweeney Todd
at Chichester & Adelphi Theatre

Best Director
Nicholas Hytner
for Timon of Athens at National Theatre

Best Design
Soutra Gilmour
For Inadmissible Evidence at Donmar Warehouse and Antigone at National Theatre

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Lolita Chakrabarti
Red Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Matthew Tennyson
Making Noise Quietly at Donmar Warehouse.

Editor's award
David Hare
For contribution to theatre .

Burberry Award for Emerging Director
Simon Godwin
Directed many plays at the Royal Court Theatre

Moscow Art Theatre's Golden Seagull award
Judi Dench
For her contribution to world theatre.

Lebedev Special Award
Nicholas Hytner
To mark his helm of the National Theatre.

Beyond Theatre award
Danny Boyle
for Olympic opening ceremony

Looking for the best seats...