Sound of Music: Simon Burke as Cpt. Von Trapp from 24 Sep 2007

Sound of Music: Simon Burke as ‘Cpt. Von Trapp’ from 24 Sep 2007

Simon Burk will take over the role of ‘Captain Von Trapp’ in The Sound of Music from 24 Sep 2007 at the London Palladium. (He replaces Alexander Hanson)

Connie Fisher continues to star as ‘Maria’ to 23 Feb 2008 for six performances a week, she does not perform on Monday evenings and Wednesday matinees.(NOTE: Connie Fisher is on holiday 13-24 November inclusive)

Aoife Mulholland, continues to star as ‘Maria’ on Monday evenings and Wednesday matinees.

Margaret Preece continues to star as ‘Mother Abbess’.

Australian-born Simon Burke won the AFI Award for Best Actor at the age of 13 for his performance in the film “The Devil’s Playground”. In London, he has starred as ‘Raoul’ in “The Phantom of the Opera” (Her Majesty’s) and ‘Carl-Magnus’ in “A Little Night Music” (Royal National Theatre). In Australia, his many stage roles include ‘Marius’ in the original Australian cast of “Les Misérables”, ‘Billy Flynn’ in “Chicago” and ‘Billy Crocker’ in “Anything Goes”.

The Sound of Music opened to mixed notices from the popular press on 15 Nov 2006, following previews from 3 Nov 2006: PAUL TAYLOR for THE INDEPENDENT says, "Adorable revival." NICHOLAS DE JONGH for THE EVENING STANDARD says, "The Sound Of Music sadly leaves me unstirred." CHARLES SPENCER for THE DAILY TELEGRAPH says, "Opulent production, handsomely designed by Robert Jones" LISA MARTLAND for THE STAGE says, "Low key staging." MICHAEL BILLINGTON for THE GUARDIAN says, "I found it surprisingly enjoyable."

The Sound of Music has music by Richard Rodgers, lyric Oscar Hammerstein II, Book by Howard Lindsay & Russel Crouse, suggested by 'The Trapp Family Singers' by Maria Augusta Trapp

Produced by David Ian, The Really Useful Group (Andrew Lloyd Webber) and Live Nation, it is directed by Jeremy Sams, designed by Robert Jones, lighting by Mark Henderson , choreography by Arlene Phillips, sound by Mick Potter and musical supervision by Simon Lee.

The score for The Sound of Music includes My Favourite Things, Do-Re-Mi, Edelweiss, Climb Ev'ry Mountain, Sixteen Going on Seventeen, The Lonely Goatherd and of course the title song The Sound of Music.

The Sound of Music is currently taking bookings to 29 March 2008

Looking for the best seats...